Clif Jackson's Krazy Kats | Mark Berresford RARE RECORDS | Mark Berresford

Clif Jackson's Krazy Kats

Cliff Jackson’s Krazy Kats in 1930. L-R: Cliff Jackson, Chester Campbell (bb), Percy Johnson, (d), Andy Jackson (bj), Rudy Powell (clt/as), Nat Brown (t), Earl Evans (as), Henry Goodwin (t), Waymon ‘Noisy’ Richardson (tb), Horace Langhorn, (ts). This group made some incrdibly exciting, stomping sides for Grey Gull in 1930, both under his own name and under the pseudonym of Marvin Smolev & His Syncopators (Smolev was Musical Director of Grey Gull).  Many, such as ‘Horse Feathers’ and ‘The Terror’ feature the fine trumpet of Henry Goodwin and the outstanding, highly individual, tenor sax of Horace Langhorn.